Hummingbird Rescue

Last week I was at a meeting at a friend’s inn when a guest of theirs came in and said a hummingbird was in the sun room.  The husband had gotten the poor little guy out of the window and he brought him outside.  I had read that to revive a hummer it should be given sugar water, so I got out the hummingbird food that my friend has to refill his feeder.  I went outside to where the little guy was, poured some in my hand then gently lifted the little fellow to try to get him to drink.  He took just a sip and that was it.  So, I placed him in my palm closer to the water – he started to sip from between my fingers like drinking from the feeder (it tickled!).  He drank a little then we moved him to the shade, put a feeder close by and then lifted him onto the feeder where he drank away!  Much to our delight he then flutter his wings and landed on, appropriately enough, a “Hummingbird Crossing” sign.  He then flew back to the feeder, drank again – then took off!  We cheered.

Now for years at the end of every summer – I try to entice these tiny birds to come close to me.  I take down some feeders and stand closer and closer to them as the birds get used to me.  Then I hold a feeder in my hand (I’ve seen videos of people doing this) but to no avail.  So this rescue was the first time I’ve ever held a Hummingbird – I was beside myself with joy!  I truly feel like I was given a wondrous gift!

Little male Hummingbird

Little male Hummingbird

About quiltinginnkeeper

I've been an Innkeeper since 1999 and a quilter since 2000 when I picked up a McCall's Easy Quilts magazine in the supermarket my first January as an innkeeper (it was cold, quiet, and I thought - well, it's easy!). I have the best job in the world, hosting people from far and near. I love to bake, cook, and do a variety of crafts. I was a Social Worker on Long Island before moving to New Hampshire to start my new life as an Innkeeper. I love living in New Hampshire and being an Innkeeper
This entry was posted in Life of an Innkeeper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

