Why I am an Innkeeper

I love my life.  I think I have the best job – people come from all over the world and tell me how beautiful my house is, how nice I am, and how wonderful my cooking is – and they pay me!  This summer my home has been filled with people from Australia, Germany, Ireland, England, the Netherlands, Canada, and of course, the US.  This past week I’ve had guests from Canada, Germany, and the Netherlands.

The wonderful couple from the Netherlands reserved 4 nights, then asked if they could stay for 2 more – but of course!  Then these lovely women from Germany came in for 3 nights and they added a night.  I am blessed.

The guests from the Netherlands left this morning and went on their way to their next stop in touring New England.  Hugs were exchanged.  I’m going to miss them – I enjoyed chatting with them very much so.

The women from Germany are just delightful!  One of them owns a quilt shop too!  Right up my alley – the Patchwork Engel – http://www.patchwork-engel.de/html/english.html  Here’s her website – with an English page too!  Today I sent her to my favorite quilt shop up here in the White Mountains – http://www.quiltshopnh.com.  Tomorrow she is headed to Keepsake Quilting by Lake Winnipesauki.  Tonight the ladies are going on the Gorham Moose Tour – they will be so happy to see a moose.  I’ve got my fingers crossed.

Ah, so like I said – I love being an innkeeper.

About quiltinginnkeeper

I've been an Innkeeper since 1999 and a quilter since 2000 when I picked up a McCall's Easy Quilts magazine in the supermarket my first January as an innkeeper (it was cold, quiet, and I thought - well, it's easy!). I have the best job in the world, hosting people from far and near. I love to bake, cook, and do a variety of crafts. I was a Social Worker on Long Island before moving to New Hampshire to start my new life as an Innkeeper. I love living in New Hampshire and being an Innkeeper
This entry was posted in Life of an Innkeeper. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

